I’m Sorry Angel

“I’m sorry Angel”, I whispered into your ear and leaned me forehead against your temple. “I won’t be able to do it.”

To be fair to you, this was pretty random. This indeed was very random. It was so random that at one moment my lips were at your nape and the next moment my lips were at your ear saying that I won’t be able to do it. As a sane person should, you too looked at me with concern in your eyes and looked at me with a bewildered look.

“What you won’t be able to do, my dear Al? As long as I have known you, there has been practically nothing which you have not said that you cannot do or you have not done. What is it Al?”, you said and tried to look into my eyes.

“I know Angel. But… this is different. This is something that I honestly cannot do. This is something that I can really not do.”, I said and my voice became raspy. And tiny little tears welled up in my eyes.

You saw me and knew that this thing was really really bothering me. That thing was more than being just another thing and was a lot more than being just another thing. It was something which resided in my soul and was something which I really really feared was something which I cannot do. Perplexed, amused and bemused you held me tightly in an embrace.

“Whatsoever it is or it was, I am sure that now you can do it and Al you always have me with you.”, you said and I hugged you back tightly and hid my head in your neck and underneath your hair. They tickled and trickled at my nape but I didn’t mind.

“Tell me what happened. We will fix it together, I assure you.”, you said and I loosened my grip on you and looked into your eyes.

“I saw a little girl the other day outside your medical college.”, I said and you shook your head affirmatively. “She had an injury and because of that she was crying and crying and crying continuously!”

You gave my head an affectionate pat and listened to me patiently.

“I just cannot drop our daughter to school for her first day! Shy will cry and cry and cry and cry and ask me to take her back home and I won’t be able to see that.”, I said.

“Al”

“No Angel. You take leave and you drop her.”

“Al.”

“Angel I don’t know. If I go, I know that I will not be able to drop her and bring her back home. Wipe her tears on the way and give her ice-cream to lighten her mood.”

“AL!”, you raised you voice a bit to silence me which strangely is very effective. “We’re 20 Al. We have at least 5 years till we get a baby! Silly boy.”

“O”, I said. “But I am then too not going to drop her.”

“Al you talk of all these silly stuff and make me shy.”, you say slowly slowly blushing to a deep beetroot red. While I sit, unable to contemplate what made you shy.

No amount of asking drew the answer out of you though. I wonder why…?

2 thoughts on “I’m Sorry Angel

Leave a Reply

