Chapter 5: Late

They say that too much of anything will act like a poison and kill you. I don’t know what happened in that bare one minute that I got too much of something which killed me. I never thought that I would change. That I would smile and laugh like the kids. That I would walk my steps in the escalator of invisibility and float on clouds. That I would hum to myself as I walk.

The changes were now so frequent that they didn’t bring a shock along with them. The changes were something that made me young. That made me feel young. That made my old bone rejuvenated with life. That I almost fox-trotted my way to the class.

The changes were something that I never thought that I would even consider to accept as a change in me. If someone had walked up to my residence last night and said to me, “Sir, tomorrow is the day you would smile the first time since the day you were 3.”, I swear he would have walked away with three bruises.

Or if someone was to say, “Sir, tomorrow you’d be fox-trotting your steps as you walk.”, I swear he would have had a nice one from me and would be found trotting away like a fox.

Or if someone were to say, “Sir, tomorrow is the day you’d expect and you would be eager to take the first class of the first year students not for the first time.”, I swear he would have had his share of pains in a manner new for the first time.

Or if someone was to say, “Sir, tomorrow is the day you’d be late for the class for the first time in your career.”, I swear I would have done something because of which he would be using late before his name.

I am a natural at jokes! I should have I tried it earlier. Wait what?

I look at my wrist and somehow the hands of the watch seemed to be giggling. I was five minutes late for the first time in my life!

2 thoughts on “Chapter 5: Late

Leave a Reply

