Ring Ring!

I wonder how long would Al take, I thought to myself. Mom has been sick and Al didn’t want to leave her alone. So he’s gone to take the groceries while I stay near Mom. But it’s nearly impossible to survive, it’s so hard to bear absences. For both of us.

Riiiiiing!

It’s Al and I pick up.

“Yes Al.”, I asked.

“I reached the shop.”, he said.

“Okay. Shop and come back early.”, I said.

“Okay. I love you.”

“I love you too Al.”, I said and disconnected.

Al. Always worried about me. He’s a bit sensitive to absences but never shows in the hopes that I don’t realize. Silly Al. I always know what Al

Riiiiiing!

It’s Al again.

“Yes Al.”

“Should I take kiwi and strawberries or just kiwi?”, he asked.

“Buy both.”

“Okay. I love you.”

“I love you too.”

He took a list with him. Why is he confirming?

Riiiiiing!

“Yes Al.”

“You want peanut butter?”

“No Al.”

“Okay. I love you.”

“I love you too.”

Riiiiiing!

“Al.”

“Should I…”

“Al listen.”

“Yes.”

“I am fine. It’s just a matter of a few minutes. I can take care of myself. Don’t worry Al.”, I said.

Static. For a while he was quiet.

“You sure you’ll be fine, Angel?”, he asked.

I can’t help but smile at him.

“You are crazy Al. Yes, I will be fine.”

“Take care. I love you.”, he said

“You’re not going on war Al. I love you too.”, I said and he chuckled and dropped the call.

What would happen of my silly Al?, I thought and thanked God for sending me to look after him.

Leave a Reply

